Tests + Considerations

When I think of how to convey the different emotions in ballet, what seems appropriate is to look at stock imagery and it’s peculiar contexts and ‘fake’ visuals. I have downloaded a considered selection of stock images, conveying a variety of emotional reactions and contexts relating to the varying intensities of Ballet and Opera. A selection is shown below:

‘Shocked Caucasian woman watches movie with eyes and mouth wide open’

‘A young couple is watching a film in a movie theater, the woman is scared but her partner is looking relaxed’

There is an peculiar notion of comedic value associated to stock imagery, maybe due to their exaggerated nature.

Perhaps I could use this to remove some of the “stuffy”, “formal” preconceptions? Also some of the imagery I have chosen depicts people who aren’t relatable to my target audience. Using scenarios and contexts that they can understand?

Notebook

